AP #300 – The universe and Everything #6


tumblr_mn7x7f1tS11r9kslto11_1280

DRAWING BLOOD

This month, AP readers voted My My Chemical Romance’s Thee Cheers For Sweet Revenge as having the most awesome album art. The blood couple on the cover was actually drawn by Gerard Way, who graduated in 1999 with a Bachelor of Fine Arts from the school Of Visual Arts in New York City. Way spent the next couple of years truing to work as a comic-book artist before eventually settling with a company called Funhaus, which designed and sculpted Marvel Comics action figures for preschoolers. With the band’s grueling tour schedule, Way doesn’t get to draw as much as he’d like, but the did find the time to create these exclusive European-comic style, Mike Mignola-inspired (Hellboy) portraits of himself and his bandmates for AP

…blows over. I hope you keep playing music, but I’ sorry that it had to go down this way. Call me if you ever want to. ‘Then he called me back at 3 in the morning one day, because he had gone to our trailer and tried to get things out of it and he couldn’t get in. I was like, ‘Why are you at out trailer at 3:00 in the morning? If you want anything out we can arrange to get it out for you.’ Then he hung up on me.

“I went to where our practice space had been, and he and a friend had left cutouts from newspaper clipping and nasty notes, and had locked the door so we couldn’t get back in, but I broke in. I called him back after that and told him to grow up and to call me when he did. He hasn’t called yet.”

“NOTHING CA HURT ME. I FELL COMPLETELY INVINCIBLE. I FEEL LIKE EVERYONE ELSE ON THAT STAGE IS INVINCIBLE AND WE’RE CAPABLE OF ANYTHING. THERE’S NO STOPPING US.” -Gerard Way

“IT TAKES ME A WHILE TO TELL STORIES,” Gerard says with a smirk and a sigh. “I think it’s because I was drunk for three years.” His eyes are wide, and the excitement of newfound possibilities seems to ooze out of every pore. He’s ready to start a new chapter of his life, one that doesn’t take his band’s name too literally. When Gerard returned from Japan, he got the help he needed from his longtime therapist, and he says he hasn’t been the same since. He hasn’t sipped a drink or popped a pill in nearly two months, and today, the band are playing better than ever.

I his youth, Gerard may’ve aspired to be a famous comic-book artist, but as he reaches his late 20’s, he’s no longer interested in making a cartoon of  himself. “I wipe the make-up off; I take the suit off; I take the tie off and everything. I kind of mop my hair out, and I’m normal again. I’m Gerard again. and that, to me, is way cooler, because it makes the Gerard onstage, the character onstage, a lot more special. Because I’m not him all the time anymore. It really puts the focus back on what the band was important for, to me, which is not this rock ‘n’ roll character. It’s this band of guys who leave something to say and love playing together.”

Now, when Gerard’s takes the stage, he’s no longer a liability-he’s a threat. The whole band are. “These are things required to be in My Chemical Romance,” he begins. “The main thing, above all else, is that you have to embody the spirit of the band. Talent is definitely part of it, but you have to be a fighter.” And Gerard should know. He’s been fighting the good fight against the toughest enemy-himself.  

“For me, [being onstage] is me being everything I always wanted to be,” he says “It erases everything I have about myself. Nothing can hurt me. I feel completely invincible. I fell like everyone else on that stage is invincible and we’re capable of anything. There’s no stopping us.”

Part #1

Remake Remodel Run Renovate [Reimagined by Gerard Way]

 

Posted on 05/31/2013, in Gerard Way, Scans and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply!

